My life in Saint-Pierre

For those who do not know, Saint Pierre is a small island of France that is located in the middle of the ocean somewhere between Canada and France, just 25km off the coast of Newfoundland. I have been here since July 3rd studying French and I am here until the 29th.

It’s like nothing I have ever done before. I am living with a french family, I am attending classes and I am enjoying the town. I am surrounded by a language that I am not fluent in but yet I am so passionate about. Learning a language is difficult and French and English are very different from each other.

Even though I am here learning French I find that experiences like this give you so many more lessons. It teaches you to be adventurous, take in each moment of each day and live freely and unapologetically. I came to Saint Pierre not knowing any of the people that I am here with now and then 3 short weeks later I have 13 new friends. Every single one of these people are different than the next but people’s differences is what make them who they are.

I go for walks here by myself and I just look around, I breathe in the fresh ocean air and I think about life. I think about how hard I have worked to get to this point, I think about how lucky I am to have an experience like this and how lucky I am to know my passion, be able to study it and for the past month actually live it.

Life is too short to not be happy and it’s too short to take everything so seriously. Learning french, living with a family who doesn’t speak your language, partying with new friends, dancing the night away, drunken walks home at 5 in the morning, piggy back rides, deep conversations about life and an endless amount of games of ping pong are what make life special.

Two years ago I did another program similar to this one called the “Explore Program” in Quebec City. That program gave me so much as well. Similar lessons in french and life but more importantly I have friends that I met there that I hope to keep in my life forever. They all have a special place in my heart.

I’m so lucky to have done both of these programs and travel to different places. These experiences are so crazy but they help build who you are. I’m so thankful to both of these programs for helping me become a little closer to knowing who I am and what I want from life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

